Interview With Joshua Weidling. Founder of DIGITAL TOUR BUS.

I personally enjoy seeing entrepreneurs pursuing professional goals at a young age. It is never too early to begin your own business, nor should one be intimidated by the thought of being a young businessman. To create a successful business, you must create an innovative product and Joshua Weidling, founder of Digital Tour Bus has accomplished this. So please read this interview and be sure to head over to http://www.digitaltourbus.com to see his work.
-Ed Wimp
Image
1.      What is Digital Tour Bus?
Digital Tour Bus is a media website that is dedicated to bringing you high quality and interesting content on your favorite touring bands and musicians. It all started in 2009 around the idea of filming a band’s tour bus, but now we have content including: concert reviews, contests, tour news, touring tips, tour blogs, and more! Some of the acts we have worked with include: Simple Plan, All Time Low, JoJo, A Day To Remember, Sick Puppies, Story of the Year, Bowling For Soup, Theory of a Deadman and Reel Big Fish.
2.      What do you do for Digital Tour Bus?
My name is Joshua Weidling and I’m the CEO and Founder of the company and website. Most of what you see on Digital Tour Bus’ is posted by me. I organize all of our interviews and coordinate with all of the bands we work with. I manage a team of up to ten video editors at any one time, as well as a team of more than ten concert reviewers. I actually film all of the “tour bus videos” you see on the site, but I do not edit any of the videos. The list of what I do can go on and on, but I’ll stop here, haha.
3.      Why did you start the company and how did the company get started?
While I was a Freshman at the University of Iowa, I came up with the idea to film bands showing off their tour buses and I decided to roll with it. Sure, I could have waited 4 years until I was out of college, but that wouldn’t have been me. People who wait finish last. Well, at least that is how I think.
The story to how Digital Tour Bus got started isn’t anything spectacular. I just started to contact bands about filming with them and the rest is history. Lol.
4.      What are the biggest accomplishments that Digital Tour Bus has achieved?
I guess I would say that my biggest accomplishment is reaching 5 million hits (this actually happened recently). To think that people like my site enough to view it over 5 million times, that just amazes me and still shocks me! Also, when I got to work with the Plain White T’s that was a huge accomplishment for me because that band is literally the reason why I’m in the music industry. They were the first band from the “scene” that I ever listened to and they continue to be my favorite band.
5.      Personally, which band or artist was your favorite to interview?
Even though the Plain White T’s are my favorite band, they weren’t my favorite band to interview. Actually, I have a small list of some of the best video shoots I have ever had. Jaret from Bowling For Soup was a pleasure to work with. The other bands I would include on this short list include: Patent Pending, The Audition, Reel Big Fish, Allstar Weekend and Simple Plan.
6.      What are some changes you would like to see in the music business?
The music business is so focus on reviving the revenue stream of album sales, instead of focusing on creating and developing new revenue streams. This style of thinking is only considering the short-term, not the long-term stability of the industry. Changing the thinking of the suits at the major record labels and the other major music companies is essential for the continued growth of the industry as a whole.
7.      What other roles have you played in the music business outside of Digital Tour Bus?
The other rolls I have played in the music industry definitely tells my story of how I got started and received all of the experience and knowledge I currently use to run Digital Tour Bus. When I was 15, I started promoting bands under the name Chi-Town Promotions. This was all shameless promotion, no money involved and I did it online (via Myspace) and offline at my high school. When I was 16, I started to book local shows and after 3 years, I had booked over 80 concerts with an average attendance over over 200 people. During this time, I had the chance to work with: The Ready Set (Sire), The White Tie Affair (Epic) and over 500 other bands. Then, when I was 17, I interned at the local Chicago music magazine, Crescendo Magazine, as a Marketing and Advertising intern. Following that, I became a news poster at ForTheSound.com, which is actually no longer in existence. Then, when I was 18, I started Digital Tour Bus. Also, while owning Digital Tour Bus, I’ve managed a few bands including The Alumni Club (IL), Backdrop (IA, now Jocelyn) and Scarlett (IL), as well as the music photographer, Mikey Kay.
8.      Who are some other entrepreneurs that you admire and aspire to be more like?
There are two entrepreneurs that instantly come to mind after reading this question and they are Johnny Earle, who owns Johnny Cupcakes, and Rob Dyrdek, the professional skateboarder and very successful entrepreneur.
I look up to both of them in different ways. In Johnny’s case, I look up to him for his ability to build his unique brand and advertise it in unconventional ways. Also, throughout the years he has continued to stick to his brand, which is very hard to do when success comes your way.  In Rob’s case, I look up to him for his ability to develop his personal brand and tie them in perfectly with his brands and endorsements.
9.      What direction is Digital Tour Bus going in? What can we expect in the future?
Unfortunately, I can’t reveal too much of this right now, but you can definitely expect a new version of our website before the year’s end, as well as a enormous amount of new types of content that I’ve been developing over the past 2 years. I’m really excited for the future and for everyone to see what I’ve been working on!
Personal links:
Digital Tour Bus links:
-Ed
Leave a Reply

