Recently Asked Question

Ok so I posted on Facebook and Twitter that I would answer in detail my favorite question that anyone asked me on http://www.formspring.me/edwimp. So far, my favorite question has been: “what are some landmarks in or around Chicago that are important to you?”

This question is important to me because Chicago is important to me. Since I was a child, there have been many different landmarks that have played a role in my life. Starting with my earliest memories, The University of Chicago Lab School and the Hyde Park area in general (which I live very close to) have played a big role in my life. I attended The Lab School until the 6th grade. Although I transferred at the age to Morgan Park Academy, my roots in Hyde Park still stayed strong. I played baseball in Hyde Park still and had a lot of friends in the area, not to mention, I still live about ten minutes from Hyde Park to this day.

Before my Grandmothers passing, she lived at The Newport Building in Hyde Park right off of Lake Shore Drive. I spent many days after school there when I was younger. My grandmother passed away when I was 8 years old, but I still remember every detail about her apartment. Everything from the exact shade of her carpeting to the smell of the rooms. Outside of her apartment was a baseball field that high school aged kids would play at. Every time there was a game I would watch and be in awe of how good they all were. As it turns out, when I turned 16, the baseball league that I was in would play games at that field quit frequently. It always reminded me of my grandmother when I played there.

I spent most of my summer days/nights at the Skatepark at 31st and Lake Shore Drive. Skateboarding was my life from when I was 10-17. I absolutely loved it and went to the skatepark any chance I got whether I was with friends or alone.

I went to Morgan Park Academy at 111th and Bell from the 7th grade to when I graduated high school. I made a lot of friends there that I still keep in contact with today. At my high school graduation from MPA I played “I Won’t Forget You, Goodbye” for the first time publicly. Since the song means a lot to me I decided to keep playing it and put it on the album Becoming The Wave. Every Wakes Dream still plays the song.

The Olympia Fields, Burr Ride, Homewood, Evergreen Park and Beverly areas all hold importance to me because I spent a lot of time hanging out in these areas because the majority of my friends lived in these areas.

Last but not least, my house has probably been the most substantial landmark that I will always value. I have lived in the house since I was born and have more memories there than I could ever explain.

So there you have it! Thanks so much for the questions and I’ll be sure to keep answering them on http://www.formspring.me/edwimp.

Ed

2 thoughts on “Recently Asked Question

  1. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run
    into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has
    a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or
    outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.
    Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being ripped off?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • I saw the wordpress comment you wrote to me earlier today. I have never run into the problem of people copying my content. I really don’t know how you can avoid having your content plagiarized in the first place but when you see that someone else has posted your content on the internet, you can send them a cease and desist notice. That will legally force them to take the content down.

      Stay in contact with me and if I come across any ways to minimize plagiarism, I will let you know.

Leave a Reply

