Meaningful Experience

The other day I was at a book store that was going out of business. Everything was marked off at least 50 percent so my mom and I decided to go in and see what books they had. I grew up going to this bookstore frequently and sometimes as often as a few times a week during certain stages in my life. To see the bookstore close was a sad experience for me because it was almost as though another aspect of my childhood was dying. An employee at the store came up to my mom and I and explained to us everything that was marked off and to tell us about why the store was closing and etc. While he was talking to us my mom asked, “what does the store closing mean for you? What career are you going to switch to?” He hesitated and said that he does not know. In my time coming to the bookstore I had always seen this man working hard and he truly was a great employee and helped the store tremendously. My heart immediatly went out to this guy. Someone with a work ethic as strong as this mans should not be concerned about having a job or having to worry about related problems. While we were talking to this guy, I happened to glance at his arm and notice a tattoo quoting the 1999 movie Fight Club.  The quote was an excerpt from the following passage:

“I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need. We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.”

When I read his tattoo, it hit me like a pile of bricks. I almost felt as though I were a character in a book or a movie because of all the symbolism that I saw in his tattoo in relation to the stage of life he was in. This guy has so much potential but our society is not allowing him to excel. Our merit system is based on the wrong things and it’s really a shame. Too many bad people are in powerful positions with oppurtunities they don’t deserve and too many good people are in bad positions and out of work. Appreciate people from all walks of life and lending a helping hand when you can. Acknowledge those that deserve recognition.

Ed

Leave a Reply

